Areon Flutes Commissioning Prize


Formerly known as the Areon Flutes International Composition Competition, this program serves our mission to make flute chamber music an equal voice in the chamber music world by involving composers in our goal to leave a diverse and lasting chamber music legacy.

2018 Areon Flutes Commissioning Prize

$1000 commission to write a new work for Areon Flutes for the 2019-2020 season.

The newly commissioned work is due no later than January 30, 2019. Duration of the new work should be between 8 and 20 minutes.

Application deadline: January 1, 2018.
Winner will be announced in March 2018.

Composers aged 18 and over of any nationality may apply.

There is no application fee.


Many thanks to everyone who applied!
We will announce the results in March 2018.




Winner: Julie Barwick  
Honorable Mention: Andre Mestre
Finalists: Paolo Geminiani, Shoryu Itazu, Ana Krstajic, Till MacIvor Meyn, Kitty Xiao, YoungWoo Yoo.  

Preliminary round judge: Elainie Lillios



Winner: Hugh Lobel
Honorable Mention: Justin Ralls

Judge: Ryan Brown



Winner: Nicole Chamberlain

Judge: Areon Flutes



Winner: Elainie Lillios

Judge: Robert Dick



1st place: Joel Hoffman
2nd place: Keith Fitch
3rd place: Robert Stine
Honorable mentions: Adrienne Albert, Jay Batzner, Lansing McLoskey

Judges: Martin Bresnik, Christopher Theofanidis, Ingram Marshall



Open Category 1st Place:
Pastorale by Idin Samimi Mofakham

Open Category Honorable Mention:
Aposiopesis and Two Curiosities by Thomas Feng

Collegiate Category 1st Place:
Marsia's Last Breath by Rashid Brocca Tovar Kuri

Judges: David Ludwig, Mike Mower



Open Category 1st Place (tie):
Van Gogh Vignettes by Greg Steinke
Grace by Minpyo Kim

Open Category Honorable Mentions:
Danza Cubana by Sondra Clark
Di-Chromatic Excrescence by Richard Freeman-Toole

Collegiate Category 1st Place:
And the night should be by Ian Munro

Collegiate Category Honorable Mention:
Elfen Sonata by Janet Spangenberg

Judges: Michael Daugherty, Dr. Cynthia Folio



Open Category 1st Place:
Four Elements by Chia-Ying Chiang

Open Category Honorable Mentions:
Pas de Quatre by Ted Dollarhide
Aulos by Luca Vanneschi

Collegiate Category 1st Place:
Entia by Noah Luna

Collegiate Category Honorable Mention:
La Fleur by Amanda Seyler

Judges: Robert Dick, Jeremy Haladyna